Our Governing Body is compromised of nine members:

Michael Deans - Chair of Governors and Community Governor

David Hodgkiss - Head Teacher (This ex-officio post will be filled by the Executive HeadTeacher whilst the postholder is seconded.) 

Amanda Lee - Deputy Head Teacher and Acting Head of School (April 2022/March 2023 (Staff Governor) *Vacancy filled after no other nominees came forward.

Rebecca Burrow - Vice Chair and Designated Safeguarding Governor and Parent Governor

Rev'd. Ian Johnston - Vicar of St. Mary's, Rockcliffe. (Foundation Governor)

Jennie Cross -  (Foundation Governor)

Amelia Morphet - (Associate Governor)

Rafe Parker - (Community)

Vacancies - (Both a Parent Governor and LA Governor to be advertised late February/early March 2022 following the passing of Val Tarbitt our LA Governor on January 28th 2022) 


The Clerk to the Governors is Wendy Barclay

The governing body meets once a term to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards  achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of support and challenge to the headteacher (a critical friend)

Some of the governing body’s work is delegated to one of three committees:
Buildings, Health and Safety: ensures compliance with Health & Safety procedures and oversees the upkeep of the building and grounds along with staff well being
Staffing and Finance: sets and monitors the budget, monitors and evaluates policies for all staffing issues e.g. recruitment, pay, teacher appraisal
Curriculum: ensures that the school offers all children the National Curriculum and monitors and evaluates curriculum policies

If you wish to contact any of the Governing Body then can be contacted either directly (official email addresses are linked above) or through the clerk who will direct emails on your behalf.  You can also leave written communications at the school office and these will be treated in confidence and passed on