Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception)

Children in the Early Years Foundation Stage (better known as EYFS) start their school life by continuing to work through the stages of learning set out in Development Matters.  The Department for Education (DfE) has published Development Matters, new non-statutory curriculum guidance which supports the delivery of the revised early years foundation stage (EYFS) statutory framework. The EYFS framework sets the standards to make sure that children aged from birth to 5 learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.

There are 7 areas of learning and development that are taught and developed across the Early Years.

The 3 prime areas are :

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

The 4 specific areas are:

  • literacy
  • maths
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design


Our EYFS classroom and outside space have all the facilities that this age group require. The Early Years form the building blocks for all future teaching and learning.